Goodbye 2016

It’s that time again when all of the #nuture16/17 posts start appearing and I think back over what this year has brought.

I have to say that I won’t be sad to see the back of 2016. My beautiful tabby cat died of cancer in March, we were robbed while on holiday and health issues are rearing their ugly head at the moment. Which makes it even more important to look forward to things improving next year.

Going back over last year’s hopes and it’s been a mixed bag really.

1 Staying Positive
I actually think that I did quite a good job of this last year. My class were fun to teach and I managed to keep my job in perspective so that it didn’t take over my life. I did manage to take a photo on nearly every day during the year. I have stored them all on Flickr and they can all be found here

https://www.flickr.com/photos/138942551@N05/albums

2 Sats
Well, what can I say? A farce? Fiasco?  As a school we didn’t do too badly but I was incensed by the content and quantity of the reading paper which led to several of my children who read perfectly well ‘not meeting the expected standard’.
Another irritation was the seemingly widely held belief that schools who did better at writing than reading must have not moderated their pupils’ work correctly. Our school have always had better writing results than reading and this year was no different. We moderated thoroughly and were quite harsh in our judgements and it’s annoying to read other people say that your results must be wrong.

3 Holidays
Didn’t start off well this year as we were robbed in Barcelona in May which rather spoilt our return to Collioure. However, we did discover the beautiful area of Asturias in Spain and visited the incredible Playa des Cathedrais

2016-07-28-15-24-59

We also visited Majorca for the first time and went to see the Christmas lights in Kew Gardens which were beautiful.

4 Singing
Still singing and have had a fantastic year. The Full Monty wasn’t the most interesting show to rehearse as the women don’t have a huge amount to do but it was an amazing show to be in. The adrenalin kick at the end of the every performance was brilliant and really reminded me of how much I love to perform.

full-monty-show-048
Then in August and again in November we took part in The Scarlet Pimpernel and this was another amazing production. Such a fantastic cast and a lovely group of people. I was gutted when the run came to an end. Next year we have Guys and Dolls and Camelot to look forward to.

5 Reaching Out
I am still inspired on a daily basis by my Twitter network as well as my supportive friends in the PTRC network. You all keep me sane, amused and inspired and make my life so much better.

I always write way too much in these posts. If you are still here, well done for persevering this far. I will try to be briefer with the next half.

Leave a Reply

