Music and Memories

IMAG1579.jpg

Day 27 and this is my contribution to the current crop of music blogs in #29daysofwriting. Thanks especially to @thatboycanteach who posted details of his half term listening on Twitter and got me thinking about special songs.

Music has always been part of my life. My earliest memories are of listening to music with my parents and we always had the radio on at home. My mum used to love Noel Edmonds on the breakfast show! But then she likes Neil Diamond as well so there’s no hope really. She and my Dad have always brought records with a collection that included Wings, Elvis, The Carpenters, Big Bands and Glenn Miller so I grew up listening to lots of different stuff. Anything but classical in fact.

Songs are closely linked to my memory. I only have to hear certain songs and I can remember specific times and events from my dim and distant youth. These are some of the songs that have formed part of my life.

Blockbuster by The Sweet was the first single I ever bought. I really loved that whole era of glam rock. Killer Queen is another song that takes me back to my secondary school years as is Joybringer by Manfred Man. I remember listening to that song in the early 70’s when we were only at school part time because the new school building wasn’t ready in time so we couldn’t all fit in the existing building at the same time. That must have been a real nightmare for the poor Head Teacher.

Joan Armatrading’s I’m not in Love takes me right back to New Year’s Eve 1976 and the Railway pub. It was my first real night out in a pub with a group of friends and ended with my being over the moon because I had been asked out!!! Adult life felt as though it had really begun. Hearing the song now still brings back that feeling of nervous excitement that seemed to fill my teenage years.

You don’t bring me flowers by Neil Diamond and Barbara Streisand always reminds me of my Grandfather’s funeral. I had this song running through my head all that day so it is always linked to feelings of sadness. My Grandfather’s death was the first time I had lost a close relative and so his funeral had a big impact on me. I always regret the fact that I didn’t spend more time with my grandparents when they were alive.

Bruce Springsteen’s Dancing in the Dark and Meatloaf Bat out of Hell are my early years with my ex husband when we always dance madly at parties. It’s nice to remember that there were good times before we separated.

Sinatra’s New York, New York reminds me of my wedding 6 years ago. It was the last song played although it wasn’t on the playlist that I had given the DJ. When I hear it, I go right back to the dance floor at the Marriott Hotel where all our friends and relatives were on the dance floor dancing and singing along. It was a song that really summed up the whole day and how great it had been.

These are just a few of the songs that are so closely linked to my memories. What songs trigger memories for you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

