Nurture 13/14 review

This one is really just for me as I review the things that I hoped to achieve this year.

1. Work/life Balance
This was a major fail. I thought that getting through the first year would be the difficult bit. However things have not got any easier or less time consuming. There seem to be more and more demands on my time from school with the result that I feel permanently exhausted. This state cannot go on indefinitely. I love teaching my class but hate the way that the job is never ending.

2.Family
I did manage to see a bit more of both of my fantastic children. Had two lovely weekends with my son in Manchester and also spent time down south with my daughter.

3. Go Places
Ticked that box as well. Apart from Manchester, we also had a great weekend in Bath earlier in the year. There were also holidays to Barcelona, La Rochelle and Porto which is somewhere that we will definitely revisit.

4. Read
I have read 200 books this year and managed a couple of more serious ones among that number. My best educational read was David Didau’s Secret Literacy. I also really enjoyed Alex’s adventures in Numberland.

5. Classblog
This was another major fail. I didn’t use it at all in the first part of the year and although I have posted some things recently, it hasn’t taken off with my pupils.

6.ipads
This is still a work in progress. I have moved beyond ComicLife but am sure that there is loads more that I can do with them. I really feel that using technology as part of teaching and learning is important as it has such huge motivational impact especially for the less high achieving pupils.

7. Get Through Sats
Well, we got through them although the results were not as good as we had hoped. This has had a huge knock on effect for this year’s teaching as we now become yet another test factory. I will continue to deliver the best teaching that I can but hate the way that results drive everything. Am dreading the raised expectations of the 2016 tests already

8.London
Our year 6 residential was fantastic. The weather was gorgeous and the children enjoyed every minute of their 4 days. Didn’t enjoy the youth hostel sleeping arrangements quite as much. After having a single room in a hotel for years in Llandudno, sharing with 5 other people was a shock to the system.

9.Social Networking
Twitter continues to be a huge source of help and inspiration. I love it and can’t imagine school  life without using it. The slight disappointment is that the PTRC forum seems to be fading away. I have met so many lovely people through that and I feel sad that it isn’t really being used any more.

10. Teachmeets
I managed to attend one earlier in the year. Sadly on the same day that the lovely Bev Evans passed away. Also attended the launch of the CAS computing hub so managing to develop my IT teaching skills a bit more.

11. Lots of lovely theatre including a visit to Stratford. I had forgotten how much I love the RSC and will make sure that  we go back soon.

12. Singing
Aspects of Love at Buxton Opera House was great and is being repeated in Derby in January. Currently rehearsing The Hired Man which I am still unsure about.

13. Eat Better
Another fail. I cut down on sugar for about  a month and then slipped back into old habits.

14. Switch Off
Another massive fail. School seems to fill every waking moment and stops me sleeping. Need to do some  serious work on this area.

So that’s my review of last year’s post. It hasn’t been a good year in many ways professionally and for the first time ever, I seriously considered leaving teaching. I don’t want to give up my job as I love so much about it and I believe that I do it well but I am not optimistic for the future of primary education.

Tomorrow I will think about this year’s challenge for nurture 14/15. 5 positives sounds  a lot more achievable.

Leave a Reply

