A positive new year

It’s that day again when we all make our New Year’s resolutions. They do seem to come around quickly; it doesn’t seem possible that it is 2014.

My New Year’s resolution is to be more positive, in all sorts of ways. This has been sparked by a variety of things which are gradually coming together in my head.

The first was a thread on PTRC about looking forward to 2014. One of my friends suggested making a diary note every day of something positive whether large or small. I like that idea and it will be a good way of making sure that I don’t get bogged down by tiredness and pressure.

The second was reading a blog from @chrishildrew about accentuating the positive and being positive with children rather than negative. It is alarminingly easy to slip into negative instructions all the time eg Stop Talking, Don’t run etc etc. I remember years ago (last century) when we had training on a behaviour improvement strategy called BAT. It was all about being positive in our interactions with children. We were all given little clicker things and had to click them every time we said something positive to a child. It was overkill and the way the package was delivered put many of the staff off however  the premise behind the strategy was sound and is still valid.

The third is continuing to read many different #nurture1314 blog posts, many of which are so positive that it puts me to shame.

These things have been rolling around in my head and I have come up with some ideas to go with my resolution.

I love Duckiec’s idea of keeping a positive diary note of something for each day. It might be a lesson that goes well, something that a child says that makes me smile or even something totally unrelated to school. I also want to make sure that I am as positive as possible with my pupils. The next two terms aren’t going to be easy for a lot of them and it is up to me to make it as easy and enjoyable as I can for them, being positive with them is going to be part of that. The third idea is to get the children to be positive as well. I want to get them to share something that has been good about the day. They can just tell their partner about something they have enjoyed during the day or we might share them together. At the end of the week I would like to try and have a highlights of the week session, maybe for the last 15 minutes or so on a Friday. These can then be collected and put on the blog.

So that is my resolution for 2014, being positive and getting my pupils to reflect a bit more about their successes which I think is going to be very important over the next few months.

A Happy and Positive 2014 everyone!

 

2 thoughts on “A positive new year

  1. I love the idea of looking for the positive in the new year and this has reminded me that I need to do that too. I’d just been talking to my husband and daughter about how January is my least favourite time of the year, so your post has reminded me that there are still plenty of things to be thankful for if I’ll just take the time to notice them!

  2. Chris Clarke

    Thanks for the mention WW! Your ideas chime very much with mine – it is so easy to get bogged down in the everyday frustrations and forget the things that make us smile. I’m sure that your Year 6s will benefit from the secure feeling that staying in the same school with familiar teachers engenders and that SATs will not be as dreadful for them as they would be in a new school. Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

