Performance Poetry

Pie Corbett shared this link and I absolutely loved it

I think this performance is inspiring. And I have to say that my first reaction was ‘What a pity that none of my pupils could do that’. But could they??????

To be honest I don’t know and that is more than a little worrying. She obviously cares passionately about poetry and about her own writing and I really don’t think that any of my children actually have such a level of passion about anything (with the possible exception of football). There are all sorts of reasons why this might be the case and I suspect that for some  children nowadays, they have so much that there isn’t really anything that is out of reach or unobtainable. We live in a fairly settled area and our society has not gone through the upheavals that other people have seen.  I suspect that the issue of home may resonate more strongly in South Africa than in South Leics.

I asked them this week to think of one amazing thing that they would like to do in their lifetime and for a lot of them it was to simply go on holiday somewhere. There was a surprising lack of of wanting to actually do anything themselves or to meet someone.  I feel as though I need to do something to wake their ambition, to give them inspiration for  things that they could aim at. I don’t want my pupils to be happy with going to Spain as a lifetime achievement, I feel that they ought to aim higher than that.

If they do feel passionately about anything, I can’t imagine any of them having the sheer force of personality to perform as she does on that stage. The question is why not? And what can I as a teacher do to encourage both the passion whether it be for poetry, music or anything else and also to give them the confidence to stand up and shout it out to eveyone.

One of the things that I can do and certainly will is to show them this clip. I may save it for when we do poetry or use it at another time but I am going to let them watch it and see if sparks a bit of ambition in them. Even if it’s only to stand on stage on Red Nose day and perform to the school.

Leave a Reply

