Random thoughts

We had a great ICT session this week as part of my Masters Issues in English course led by Doug Dickinson (@orunner) . There was a huge of amount packed into one afternoon and as always, I left with my head buzzing with ideas.

One of the things that Doug reminded me of was poetry. He read A A Milne’s Wind on the Hill which I remembered reading as a child. And then it snowed which reminded me of A A Milne once again, espcecially Winnie the Pooh.

The more it snows ~~ tiddely pom,

The more it goes ~~ tiddely pom,

The more it goes ~~ tiddely pom On snowing ~~

And nobody knows~~ tiddely pom ,

How cold my toes ~~ tiddely pom,

Are growing.

I remember reading this to my own children and it seems especially apt for yesterday when we were out on the school field.

As I reread the book last night I came across this quote from Eeyore which if you live in Loughborough or close by is especially appropriate 🙂

“It’s snowing still,” said Eeyore gloomily.
“So it is.”
“And freezing.”
“Is it?”
“Yes,” said Eeyore. “However,” he said, brightening up a little, “we haven’t had an earthquake lately.”

So thanks for sending me back to The House at Pooh Corner Doug. I am now filled with good intentions to share more of my favourite poems with my children and to read more poetry myself.

Leave a Reply

