A Food Group Foldable

I’m still developing my ideas for different ways of children presenting their work and trying to use foldables across the curriculum.

I finished last term’s work on Fractions with a foldable which I found on pinterest. The children really enjoyed using it and many of them said that combining all their ideas onto one piece of work really helped them to understand.

 

This term I created an entirely new foldable which is all my own work rather than begin adapted from one that I have seen somewhere else. I’m sure that someone else has used the idea but I haven’t seen it being done quite like this. I began with a basic regular hexagon and then extended the sides to create a six pointed star. We then used this to identify the different food groups, the foods that were in each group and what each one does for our bodies.

IMG_2614
The outside of the foldable

 

Foldable opened up to reveal information
Foldable opened up to reveal informationT

The empty triangle should have had a comment about the fact that we need to eat a balanced diet. The children did enjoy completing their star rather than just writing the information in their books or completing a worksheet. Whether the information stays in their heads any longer remains to be seen 🙂

 

 

One thought on “A Food Group Foldable

Leave a Reply

