Verbs, nouns etc

Getting my pupils to be able to say whether a word is a noun, verb or adjective is always an uphill struggle but with the increased emphasis on grammar, I think it is going to become increasingly important. I got the idea of a foldable for this from pinterest where there are several examples of foldables or lift the flap books for parts of speech and decided to create one of my own.

My grammar foldable

The idea is that on the second page, the children will explain what each class of word is and on the third page they will collect examples of the different words. I’m going to stick it inside the front cover of their English books so that they will have it as a reference point. I want it to be something that is ongoing so I will get them to add words to their collections as we go through the year. It could also be used for transforming words as they can look at how one of their verbs could be changed to a noun or how an adjective can be transformed into adverb.

I also want to add an active element into this so I am going to create large posters saying noun, verb, adjective and adverb to use in the hall or playground. The idea would be to play a game based on the Bus stop party game. I call out or display a word and the children have to run to the correct group. The words called out will include words such as ‘light’ and then the children will have to explain why have they chosen a particular group. Hopefully the combination of activities will help to reinforce the understanding of each word group.

2 thoughts on “Verbs, nouns etc

  1. genkijen

    I like this idea and especially the game, could be used as a PE starter as well and could be extended by asking them to give synonyms for extra points šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

