A Bigger Picture

Yesterday I was lucky enough to go to the David Hockney exhibition at the Royal Academy in London. I have always loved Hockney’s paintings and love the way he constantly reinvents himself and his art. I booked the ticket for the exhibition as soon as they were on sale and after seeing the queues yesterday of people waiting for the chance to buy a ticket, I was glad that I had.

The exhibition was crowded but absolutely stunning. From the moment I walked into the first gallery, I was mesmerised by the impact of his paintings.  The sheer volume of work was overwhelming. I had seen some of the larger tree pictures a couple of years ago at the Tate but seeing them altogether gave them an impact that one or two paintings simply don’t have.

I have read articles criticising his work as being too garish and simplistic but that seems to ignore the point of painting. If you want something to look exactly as nature intended, then you might just as well take a photo. The sheer colour and vibrancy of the paintings is part of their appeal for me.

I love the way that he has captured the changing seasons in his work and has used modern technology in tandem with tradtional methods of water colour and oils. The gallery where Hockney documented the coming of Spring in a series of paintings on his ipad was incredible and I sat for ages just looking at the emergence of the season through his eyes.

I have often used Hockney with children especially as part of our water topic. However I am inspired afresh and will certainly be using him as part of our work on landscape this term.

Leave a Reply

