Try something new!

I really wanted to go to see Matilda at the RSC after reading the brilliant reviews. Quick search of the website revealed that virtually no seats were left so that was that!

However then my husband announced that he was going away for a week to Dubai! Home alone for a whole week . How could I occupy my long lonely evenings? Another search of the RSC website revealed that although it was nearly sold out, there were still quite a few single seats left. So the question was do I go to Stratford on my own? Well of course is the answer. Not only were there still single seats left but one of them was in the middle of the front row of the circle. Perfect!

To get to Stratford is about an hour’s drive so I needed to leave at about 6 o clock. That’s very early to have eaten an evening meal, even by my standards. I could take sandwiches and sit and eat them in the car park, but not a very appealing option. Or I could eat fish and chips on the banks of the Avon, that’s OK if it’s not raining. Or I could go to a restaurant and eat a proper meal??????

So, Friday night saw me at a corner table in a lovely squashy chair, eating a meal for one. It was quite a strange experience but not unpleasant. I had a book to read (although the candlelight wasn’t ideal) and the staff were fantastic. It did feel very adventurous, sitting there on my own. It was a perfect position for people watching though. I was amused by the man who told his friends to stop talking to him as he had to finish the book before the performance started. Not sure whether he did or not. He seemed to have quite a long way to go.

The show was brilliant! There were amazing performances from all of the children, especially Matilda, and Miss Trunchbull was superb! The show made me laugh, nearly cry and sit on the edge of my seat in anticipation. It was only slightly spoilt by having to evacuate the theatre because of a fire alarm. Everything was very orderly and we were back inside not long afterwards.

So, I did something new this weekend. Next stop is to try and get tickets to see David Tennant in Much Ado (I might take my husband to that one though).

Leave a Reply

