MaST 2nd Assignment

I’ve just realised that it’s been nearly a month since I’ve posted anything on here. It certainly doesn’t mean that I haven’t done any teaching or thinking about maths for a month! The past four weeks seem to have been hectic with very little time to sit and reflect about what I have been doing.

The most urgent thing at the moment is to get my second assignment written. This has so far taken hours of thought and brain wracking. Not to mention the idea of not bothering at all and just giving the course up which is very tempting and almost happened earlier today!

I love the course and really feel that it has made me think a lot more about how I teach and why I do things in a certain way. However the written part of the course is very stressful and I am struggling to get this assignment going.

One of the main problems is the same as for the first assignment. A requirement to read research and use that in the assignment. The university library system doesn’t seem to throw up anything useful despite hours of searching. Google scholar is useful but only to a limited degree. Too often the articles that come up have to be purchased which isn’t really feasible when it isn’t at all certain that it will be helpful.

My main problem though is that the whole thing is very vague. I’m not sure what the focus of the assignment is supposed to be. Is it on the collaboration between my colleague and myself or is it on the improvement in children’s learning that hopefully arises out of the collaboration? Or both???

The isolation is hard as well. Our network group meet occasionally but none of us is any more sure of how to proceed than I am. We have met our assignment tutor once and there are differing opinions about how much help we are supposed to have.

I am currently working on the principle of asking questions by email and if I go too far, then she will presumably say so.

This all sounds very depressing which reflects how I feel about this side of the course. Not sure what I would recommend to anyone starting it this year. Hopefully things may be a bit clearer for the second cohort as we sometimes get the feeling that no one is entirely sure what is supposed to be happening.

I think that my main advice would be to keep in touch with the other people in your group and try to meet outside of the organised meetings so that you can share ideas and problems.

So back to the assignment. It’s due in 3 weeks time so I haven’t got a huge amount of time to sort my ideas out.

2 thoughts on “MaST 2nd Assignment

  1. duckiec

    Only just caught up with your blogs WW. I know that the Uni’s are all handling this differently, but our tutor made it clear that we should e-mail her as much as we need to and that she will provide as much support as we need when writing assignments. Good luck, and try not to get too depressed. I hope that you’ve managed to break the back of it over half term.

    1. Thanks duckiec. I did manage to get most of it done over half term and now just have to finish it off. There seems to be a huge difference in the course across the country.
      Hope that your MaST year ends well.

Leave a Reply

