Second Reading

Mathematics – Understanding the Score

Issued by Ofsted last year.

This document contains examples of what constitutes good and satisfactory teaching in mathematics. It also has some sample lesson tasks with ideas as to how the teacher could have improved their lesson.

We were asked to reflect on the examples given in the light of our own practice and also for informing our approach to supporting other teachers.

When reading through I can honestly that I do try to implement all the features highlighted as ‘good’ teaching. The area I fall down on is the one of giving pupils the opportunity to explain their ideas and develop their reasoning. I feel that maybe this is a weakness in my own understanding of maths and therefore one that I avoid when teaching. I am not sure of my own reasoning sometimes and not confident in my abilities to move the reasoning of my pupils forward. This is an area that I hope to develop during the course.

Tomorrow my colleague and I are carrying out some work as part of a lesson study. We are using materials prodided at the year 5/6 course in Nov to try and develop pupil’s visualisation skills as well as their reasoning. This will feed back to the second part of the course after half term.

On Weds I have my first proper MAST session which will be followed by the residential over half term.

One thought on “Second Reading

  1. Emma D

    This is really interesting. I might see if I can find a copy of that document as I would like to read it and see if I can improve my teaching in some way.

Leave a Reply

